drm/i915: Split clipping and checking from update_plane hook
authorVille Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
Wed, 16 May 2012 14:38:14 +0000 (17:38 +0300)
committerVille Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
Thu, 25 Oct 2012 16:57:40 +0000 (19:57 +0300)
commitc95201556c0e1361157f5d6d135a8e9304c68fa0
tree91ba9ee2a349b39eeb18f9f76a8f48cc73737a1a
parent7de958627911e277b22ee7b1e8a53114ec0a1ceb
drm/i915: Split clipping and checking from update_plane hook

Split the update_plane() codepath into two separate steps. The first
step checkis and clips the plane, and the second step actually commits
the changes to the hardware. This allows the atomic modesetting code
to perform all checks before clobering hardware state.

The update_plane() hook is reduced to a thin wrapper calling both check
and commit functions.

Buffer (un)pinning is still being performed in the commit step. This
needs to be changed as well, so that the atomic modesetting code can
try to pin all new buffers before touching the hardware.

Signed-off-by: Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_drv.h
drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_sprite.c