qtwebkit:testfonts.git
5 years agoAppend fallbacks for the default font names. master
Pierre Rossi [Tue, 2 Apr 2013 18:16:55 +0000 (20:16 +0200)]
Append fallbacks for the default font names.

Due to the way WebKit allows overriding the standard fonts via settings,
we need to ensure the fallbacks providing additional charsets are set
to match the actual family we are using (e.g Liberation) as this is the
font family that will be queried by WebKit.

5 years agoAdded fonts with new glyphs (e.g. Hebrew). 1
Marcelo Lira [Mon, 1 Oct 2012 20:13:15 +0000 (17:13 -0300)]
Added fonts with new glyphs (e.g. Hebrew).

The Liberation font family lacks many non-European glyphs, and it can
not grow due to licensing issues.[1] Nevertheless, the same designers
behind the original Liberation fonts were commissioned to create a new
set of fonts with the same aims called Croscore[2]. The fonts they produced
are under a license that allows for growth, but what matters here is
that croscore gives us a lot more of glyphs.[2]

Unfortunately we can't just use them as drop-in replacements for
Liberation, since one pixel here and there will make tests fail,
but we can have them as fallbacks for missing glyphs.

[1] Liberation fonts and the tricky task of internationalization
    http://lwn.net/Articles/502371/
[2] Liberation 2.0 font development plan based on croscore fonts.
    http://lists.fedoraproject.org/pipermail/fonts/2012-May/001455.html
[3] I18N/Liberation vs Croscore fonts
    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/I18N/Liberation_vs_Croscore_fonts

5 years agoImprove fonts.conf to assign directly to our fonts
Caio Marcelo de Oliveira Filho [Fri, 25 May 2012 15:03:22 +0000 (12:03 -0300)]
Improve fonts.conf to assign directly to our fonts

Use the same strategy as the GTK and Chromium port and assign directly the
fonts used in LayoutTests to our available font choices. Also remove rules
that do not help this goal.

The fonts-qt5-wk1.conf is not needed anymore because the direct rules work
for Qt 4.8.2 and Qt 5.

Use Liberation font family for tests, instead of Nimbus.
Liberation provides the same metrics as MS Core fonts, and is used by
other ports, for example GTK.

The patch also fixes the problem of returning the wrong fonts when
monospaced was request.

The old expected png results were not changed, and will be properly
updated during the unskip stage.

For further information on the font discussion, see the webkit-qt mailing
list thread[1] and bug #85203.

[1] https://lists.webkit.org/pipermail/webkit-qt/2012-May/002846.html

5 years agoRevert "Add complete set of generic font familes as SVG fonts"
Tor Arne Vestbø [Thu, 31 May 2012 12:51:09 +0000 (14:51 +0200)]
Revert "Add complete set of generic font familes as SVG fonts"

.. and "Add a bunch of SVG files for use in the DRT and Qtlauncher"

This reverts commit d77148d3c9a2f82c and bdd0f28ae7ee6deab.

The SVG-fonts-to-unitfy-metrics experiment never got anywhere.

6 years agoAdd one more aliasing rule to not mess with the Qt4 baseline.
Pierre Rossi [Thu, 3 May 2012 11:39:56 +0000 (13:39 +0200)]
Add one more aliasing rule to not mess with the Qt4 baseline.

The approach consisting in hard coding font families in
QFont::defaultFont resulted in interesting results.
While the default font was always intended to be a serif font,
it returned "Times" which somehow resolved to "Nimbus Sans L".
Since QFont::defaultFont now returns "Nimbus Roman No9 L"
early on, we need this additional alias so that it later on gets
the same test font.

6 years agoDo the Qt5-WK1 aliasing trick for all the default families.
Pierre Rossi [Thu, 5 Apr 2012 14:05:23 +0000 (16:05 +0200)]
Do the Qt5-WK1 aliasing trick for all the default families.

6 years agoTemporarily force "serif" to be resolved as "Times"
Pierre Rossi [Tue, 3 Apr 2012 19:27:10 +0000 (21:27 +0200)]
Temporarily force "serif" to be resolved as "Times"

Since 2cc5442b0263a449f4f5eb0cbf99e419ee0d0d38, in Qt5, the default
serif family picked by fontconfig in DumpRenderTree has changed.
If we want to be able to keep the tests results in line with what we
get for Qt4, we need this little hack to force the same family to be
resolved.

6 years agoBring fonts.conf in sync with WebKit's Tools/DumpRenderTree/qt/fonts.conf
Simon Hausmann [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 11:26:07 +0000 (12:26 +0100)]
Bring fonts.conf in sync with WebKit's Tools/DumpRenderTree/qt/fonts.conf

6 years agoRemove the Condensed variant of Numbus Sans L fonts because on
Balazs Kelemen [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 14:57:09 +0000 (15:57 +0100)]
Remove the Condensed variant of Numbus Sans L fonts because on
some systems these are picked up instead of the regular ones
wich makes font metrics differing from the expectations.

8 years agoAdd the fonts.bin file (regenerate using Makefile)
Tor Arne Vestbø [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 12:23:03 +0000 (13:23 +0100)]
Add the fonts.bin file (regenerate using Makefile)

8 years agoAdd complete set of generic font familes as SVG fonts
Tor Arne Vestbø [Wed, 18 Nov 2009 16:00:00 +0000 (17:00 +0100)]
Add complete set of generic font familes as SVG fonts

Including:

  - serif (DejaVuSerif)
  - sans-serif (DejaVuSans)
  - monospace (DejaVuSansMono)
  - fantasy (Baldur)
  - cursive (FormalScript)

@font-face definitions are in fonts.css, which is compiled together
with the SVG fonts into fonts.bin by the included Makefile. This
binary file is then loaded by the Qt DRT and QtLauncher at runtime.

8 years agoAdd a bunch of SVG files for use in the DRT and Qtlauncher
Tor Arne Vestbø [Thu, 12 Nov 2009 16:36:58 +0000 (17:36 +0100)]
Add a bunch of SVG files for use in the DRT and Qtlauncher

9 years agoImport from svn://labs.trolltech.com/svn/webkit/testfonts
Simon Hausmann [Wed, 29 Apr 2009 06:39:02 +0000 (08:39 +0200)]
Import from svn://labs.trolltech.com/svn/webkit/testfonts

These fonts are needed to run the Qt layout tests.