ipv6: Don't depend on per socket memory for neighbour discovery messages
authorThomas Graf <tgraf@suug.ch>
Tue, 3 Sep 2013 11:37:01 +0000 (13:37 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Sat, 14 Sep 2013 12:50:48 +0000 (05:50 -0700)
commit6ca04e8fc4c799a55b011d489b71a5732a9ae8dd
tree8bf8dc47ac1d7a524aaaffcaf5a335740d1a035e
parent1eeceae48fdc6e6fcb71403010ef5dd863b7ef2f
ipv6: Don't depend on per socket memory for neighbour discovery messages

[ Upstream commit 25a6e6b84fba601eff7c28d30da8ad7cfbef0d43 ]

Allocating skbs when sending out neighbour discovery messages
currently uses sock_alloc_send_skb() based on a per net namespace
socket and thus share a socket wmem buffer space.

If a netdevice is temporarily unable to transmit due to carrier
loss or for other reasons, the queued up ndisc messages will cosnume
all of the wmem space and will thus prevent from any more skbs to
be allocated even for netdevices that are able to transmit packets.

The number of neighbour discovery messages sent is very limited,
use of alloc_skb() bypasses the socket wmem buffer size enforcement
while the manual call to skb_set_owner_w() maintains the socket
reference needed for the IPv6 output path.

This patch has orginally been posted by Eric Dumazet in a modified
form.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Graf <tgraf@suug.ch>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Cc: Hannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@stressinduktion.org>
Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org>
Cc: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Fabio Estevam <fabio.estevam@freescale.com>
Tested-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>
Acked-by: Hannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@stressinduktion.org>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
net/ipv6/ndisc.c