[PATCH] Don't over-clamp window in tcp_clamp_window()
authorAlexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@ms2.inr.ac.ru>
Fri, 30 Sep 2005 00:19:42 +0000 (17:19 -0700)
committerChris Wright <chrisw@osdl.org>
Mon, 3 Oct 2005 23:27:19 +0000 (16:27 -0700)
commit27489ba07fb2336c9ce616f4e118a81afa78e550
treeaf752c88df7b0f3a833599b511242082250b9cdd
parentfd3fb3e1109b3c0ba63358a17d1ebd845ceebdb0
[PATCH] Don't over-clamp window in tcp_clamp_window()

Handle better the case where the sender sends full sized
frames initially, then moves to a mode where it trickles
out small amounts of data at a time.

This known problem is even mentioned in the comments
above tcp_grow_window() in tcp_input.c, specifically:

...
 * The scheme does not work when sender sends good segments opening
 * window and then starts to feed us spagetti. But it should work
 * in common situations. Otherwise, we have to rely on queue collapsing.
...

When the sender gives full sized frames, the "struct sk_buff" overhead
from each packet is small.  So we'll advertize a larger window.
If the sender moves to a mode where small segments are sent, this
ratio becomes tilted to the other extreme and we start overrunning
the socket buffer space.

tcp_clamp_window() tries to address this, but it's clamping of
tp->window_clamp is a wee bit too aggressive for this particular case.

Fix confirmed by Ion Badulescu.

Signed-off-by: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Chris Wright <chrisw@osdl.org>
net/ipv4/tcp_input.c