timekeeping: Fix potential lost pv notification of time change
authorJohn Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Thu, 12 Dec 2013 04:07:49 +0000 (20:07 -0800)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 13 Feb 2014 21:55:45 +0000 (13:55 -0800)
commit224655fc3e805bcc5a2139eaae28f783fa206df9
tree1ed503053d2dfa48f5a90a93e221872d359011ed
parent7ffbcb388ddf91af51cb24eaacb51f6f0ffd535b
timekeeping: Fix potential lost pv notification of time change

commit 5258d3f25c76f6ab86e9333abf97a55a877d3870 upstream.

In 780427f0e11 (Indicate that clock was set in the pvclock
gtod notifier), logic was added to pass a CLOCK_WAS_SET
notification to the pvclock notifier chain.

While that patch added a action flag returned from
accumulate_nsecs_to_secs(), it only uses the returned value
in one location, and not in the logarithmic accumulation.

This means if a leap second triggered during the logarithmic
accumulation (which is most likely where it would happen),
the notification that the clock was set would not make it to
the pv notifiers.

This patch extends the logarithmic_accumulation pass down
that action flag so proper notification will occur.

This patch also changes the varialbe action -> clock_set
per Ingo's suggestion.

Cc: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>
Cc: <xen-devel@lists.xen.org>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
kernel/time/timekeeping.c