xfs: drop buffer io reference when a bad bio is built
authorDave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>
Mon, 12 Nov 2012 11:09:46 +0000 (22:09 +1100)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Mon, 26 Nov 2012 19:37:36 +0000 (11:37 -0800)
commit0244d2ed647d788233ad72d32986bc0ee9a71d5b
tree1d5d58aca768824271ed6d039f69b11b9bedd44f
parent3f874ecc49208f3635e29c3a08ade01778ad85e4
xfs: drop buffer io reference when a bad bio is built

commit d69043c42d8c6414fa28ad18d99973aa6c1c2e24 upstream.

Error handling in xfs_buf_ioapply_map() does not handle IO reference
counts correctly. We increment the b_io_remaining count before
building the bio, but then fail to decrement it in the failure case.
This leads to the buffer never running IO completion and releasing
the reference that the IO holds, so at unmount we can leak the
buffer. This leak is captured by this assert failure during unmount:

XFS: Assertion failed: atomic_read(&pag->pag_ref) == 0, file: fs/xfs/xfs_mount.c, line: 273

This is not a new bug - the b_io_remaining accounting has had this
problem for a long, long time - it's just very hard to get a
zero length bio being built by this code...

Further, the buffer IO error can be overwritten on a multi-segment
buffer by subsequent bio completions for partial sections of the
buffer. Hence we should only set the buffer error status if the
buffer is not already carrying an error status. This ensures that a
partial IO error on a multi-segment buffer will not be lost. This
part of the problem is a regression, however.

Signed-off-by: Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Mark Tinguely <tinguely@sgi.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Myers <bpm@sgi.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
fs/xfs/xfs_buf.c