Use QImageReader instead of QPixmap constructor to load images. 4
authorRobin Burchell <viroteck@viroteck.net>
Sat, 2 Apr 2011 04:19:58 +0000 (05:19 +0100)
committerRobin Burchell <viroteck@viroteck.net>
Sat, 2 Apr 2011 04:24:58 +0000 (05:24 +0100)
commit39290f57368aa06ddc303e3e1a53f6e37ddcfb74
treebd173237dd3f2e81ef2412a33bb128142599d33f
parent90b69d7b6c6ba42368bd22e20b911007bffc4a90
Use QImageReader instead of QPixmap constructor to load images.

This is much more efficient, as it doesn't insert items into QPixmapCache.

This would normally perhaps not be such a bad thing, but we expect QML to be
'smart' enough to do the caching for us, so this just creates unnecessary cache
pressure and wastes memory.

This also avoids an unnecessary check on the file mtime due to not using the
cache, meaning less unnecessary disk access.

This results in ~1mb less VSZ and ~1mb less RES memory usage on a Lenovo S10-3t,
and apparently faster startup.

Signed-off-by: Robin Burchell <viroteck@viroteck.net>
Signed-off-by: John Brooks <john.brooks@dereferenced.net>
src/kernel/systemiconprovider.cpp
src/kernel/themedimageprovider.cpp