maximus:mandulia.git
8 years agofix screenshot
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 01:23:22 +0000 (02:23 +0100)]
fix screenshot

8 years agobump version number; add note about SSE4 flag
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 01:12:40 +0000 (02:12 +0100)]
bump version number; add note about SSE4 flag

8 years agoupdate to current code
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 01:05:04 +0000 (02:05 +0100)]
update to current code

8 years agoupdate to current code
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 01:04:43 +0000 (02:04 +0100)]
update to current code

8 years agofix screenshots/recording comments
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 01:00:51 +0000 (02:00 +0100)]
fix screenshots/recording comments

8 years agoprune dead code
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 01:00:10 +0000 (02:00 +0100)]
prune dead code

8 years agomerge random and interactive configurations into one main configuration
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 00:28:20 +0000 (01:28 +0100)]
merge random and interactive configurations into one main configuration

8 years agoreduce heap limit as we can run in constant space now
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 00:26:00 +0000 (01:26 +0100)]
reduce heap limit as we can run in constant space now

8 years agorecompute tiling on instead of sharing to fix massive memory leak; get statistics...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 00:25:28 +0000 (01:25 +0100)]
recompute tiling on instead of sharing to fix massive memory leak; get statistics for Lua interface

8 years agostrictify to avoid memory leak
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 00:23:33 +0000 (01:23 +0100)]
strictify to avoid memory leak

8 years agoattempt to fix memory leak by pattern-matching on ()
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 00:22:38 +0000 (01:22 +0100)]
attempt to fix memory leak by pattern-matching on ()

8 years agoattempt to store statistics more strictly
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 00:21:48 +0000 (01:21 +0100)]
attempt to store statistics more strictly

8 years agostrict version of modifyIORef
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 25 Jul 2010 00:21:06 +0000 (01:21 +0100)]
strict version of modifyIORef

8 years agoadditional file to distribute
Claude Heiland-Allen [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 04:56:43 +0000 (05:56 +0100)]
additional file to distribute

8 years agocolour using Mandelbrot Set escape time in addition
Claude Heiland-Allen [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 04:52:48 +0000 (05:52 +0100)]
colour using Mandelbrot Set escape time in addition

8 years agolarger field for Julia Set renders
Claude Heiland-Allen [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 04:51:53 +0000 (05:51 +0100)]
larger field for Julia Set renders

8 years agoimproved escapetime to colour function
Claude Heiland-Allen [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 04:50:13 +0000 (05:50 +0100)]
improved escapetime to colour function

8 years agoremove unused includes
Claude Heiland-Allen [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 04:46:21 +0000 (05:46 +0100)]
remove unused includes

8 years agobackground back to black
Claude Heiland-Allen [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 04:40:33 +0000 (05:40 +0100)]
background back to black

8 years agolarger display size
Claude Heiland-Allen [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 04:38:22 +0000 (05:38 +0100)]
larger display size

8 years agouse filename for reinclusion defence macro
Claude Heiland-Allen [Fri, 23 Jul 2010 04:37:49 +0000 (05:37 +0100)]
use filename for reinclusion defence macro

8 years agoignore binary
Claude Heiland-Allen [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 23:06:25 +0000 (00:06 +0100)]
ignore binary

8 years agoavoid visiting near recent history to make attract mode more interesting
Claude Heiland-Allen [Thu, 22 Jul 2010 23:05:52 +0000 (00:05 +0100)]
avoid visiting near recent history to make attract mode more interesting

8 years agoattract mode improvements: self-centering random walk for zoom level; target border...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 21:59:16 +0000 (22:59 +0100)]
attract mode improvements: self-centering random walk for zoom level; target border of Mandelbrot set as more interesting; random walk near previous target

8 years agoexterior distance from Mandelbrot Set
Claude Heiland-Allen [Tue, 20 Jul 2010 21:57:04 +0000 (22:57 +0100)]
exterior distance from Mandelbrot Set

8 years agov0.4 joining the cabal v0.4
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 19:17:15 +0000 (20:17 +0100)]
v0.4 joining the cabal

8 years agofix base dependency to allow successful compilation with ghc-6.10.4
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 19:08:50 +0000 (20:08 +0100)]
fix base dependency to allow successful compilation with ghc-6.10.4

8 years agobump cabal version to use source-repository sections
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 18:54:26 +0000 (19:54 +0100)]
bump cabal version to use source-repository sections

8 years agoinclude HACKING documentation
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 18:51:16 +0000 (19:51 +0100)]
include HACKING documentation

8 years agodocument briefly what each source code file is for
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 18:36:15 +0000 (19:36 +0100)]
document briefly what each source code file is for

8 years agorename files that might compile to files with indistinguishable names on case-insensi...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 18:22:45 +0000 (19:22 +0100)]
rename files that might compile to files with indistinguishable names on case-insensitive file systems

8 years agogenerate a prettier ChangeLog; ignore generated file
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 17:54:14 +0000 (18:54 +0100)]
generate a prettier ChangeLog; ignore generated file

8 years agogenerate ChangeLog for sdist
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 17:23:04 +0000 (18:23 +0100)]
generate ChangeLog for sdist

8 years agocurrent bug status
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 16:47:42 +0000 (17:47 +0100)]
current bug status

8 years agoundo
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 16:40:58 +0000 (17:40 +0100)]
undo

8 years agozoomTo bug seems avoided, though scripts could be notified or check if a view is...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 16:29:06 +0000 (17:29 +0100)]
zoomTo bug seems avoided, though scripts could be notified or check if a view is invalid

8 years agoworking fullscreen mode
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 16:07:41 +0000 (17:07 +0100)]
working fullscreen mode

8 years agofull screen support
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 15:47:44 +0000 (16:47 +0100)]
full screen support

8 years agoobey semantics of coding standards - NEWS is terse/user-centric while ChangeLog shoul...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 15:31:02 +0000 (16:31 +0100)]
obey semantics of coding standards - NEWS is terse/user-centric while ChangeLog should be verbose/developer-centric

8 years agoslight attempt to fix that out of range ouch bug
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 15:29:17 +0000 (16:29 +0100)]
slight attempt to fix that out of range ouch bug

8 years agofix cabal sdist problems
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 10:29:11 +0000 (11:29 +0100)]
fix cabal sdist problems

8 years agoupdate ignores to the current state of the build system
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 10:12:24 +0000 (11:12 +0100)]
update ignores to the current state of the build system

8 years agoexplicit export list; comment out unused code
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 10:00:29 +0000 (11:00 +0100)]
explicit export list; comment out unused code

8 years agoexplicit export list; comment out unused code
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 09:49:06 +0000 (10:49 +0100)]
explicit export list; comment out unused code

8 years agoexplicit export list
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 09:48:49 +0000 (10:48 +0100)]
explicit export list

8 years agoexplicit export list; comment out unused code
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 09:44:36 +0000 (10:44 +0100)]
explicit export list; comment out unused code

8 years agocategorize and annotate TODO list
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 09:37:32 +0000 (10:37 +0100)]
categorize and annotate TODO list

8 years agofix it so it works
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 09:36:18 +0000 (10:36 +0100)]
fix it so it works

8 years agofix usage of namespace, add args example
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 09:35:49 +0000 (10:35 +0100)]
fix usage of namespace, add args example

8 years agoupdate to use 'mandulia' namespace
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 08:55:36 +0000 (09:55 +0100)]
update to use 'mandulia' namespace

8 years agosupport user app data dir and relative-to-file paths; support passing extra arguments...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 08:54:59 +0000 (09:54 +0100)]
support user app data dir and relative-to-file paths; support passing extra arguments to scripts; use 'mandulia' namespace/table for everything

8 years agoreduce heap size further
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 07:08:57 +0000 (08:08 +0100)]
reduce heap size further

8 years agolimit GHC RTS heap size to 2GB
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 06:51:17 +0000 (07:51 +0100)]
limit GHC RTS heap size to 2GB

8 years agofix it so it works
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 06:38:45 +0000 (07:38 +0100)]
fix it so it works

8 years agosimple command line arguments; help/usage text; version text
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 06:24:08 +0000 (07:24 +0100)]
simple command line arguments; help/usage text; version text

8 years agoinstallation info moved (and expanded) from README to INSTALL
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 05:20:10 +0000 (06:20 +0100)]
installation info moved (and expanded) from README to INSTALL

8 years agoauthor info moved from README to AUTHORS
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 05:03:33 +0000 (06:03 +0100)]
author info moved from README to AUTHORS

8 years agoknown issues moved from README to TODO
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 05:01:01 +0000 (06:01 +0100)]
known issues moved from README to TODO

8 years agomove ChangeLog out from README and expand it with text from tag annotations
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 04:59:02 +0000 (05:59 +0100)]
move ChangeLog out from README and expand it with text from tag annotations

8 years agosimplify source statistics to print a summary only
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 04:48:55 +0000 (05:48 +0100)]
simplify source statistics to print a summary only

8 years agoupdate source statistics script
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 04:45:41 +0000 (05:45 +0100)]
update source statistics script

8 years agoremove pre-cabal build system
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 04:45:13 +0000 (05:45 +0100)]
remove pre-cabal build system

8 years agoupdate documentation with cabal info
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 04:41:42 +0000 (05:41 +0100)]
update documentation with cabal info

8 years agoloosen dependency versions until someone complains
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 04:13:16 +0000 (05:13 +0100)]
loosen dependency versions until someone complains

8 years agosupport both explicit filenames for load and short names for require
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 04:12:48 +0000 (05:12 +0100)]
support both explicit filenames for load and short names for require

8 years agotry require() if loadfile fails
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 03:41:28 +0000 (04:41 +0100)]
try require() if loadfile fails

8 years agouse cabal's Paths_pkgname; pop Lua stack to avoid overflow
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 03:29:23 +0000 (04:29 +0100)]
use cabal's Paths_pkgname; pop Lua stack to avoid overflow

8 years agofix syntax errors and missing depends, add more info
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 02:54:30 +0000 (03:54 +0100)]
fix syntax errors and missing depends, add more info

8 years agouse require() instead of dofile()
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 02:52:59 +0000 (03:52 +0100)]
use require() instead of dofile()

8 years agofirst step at cabalization
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 02:27:11 +0000 (03:27 +0100)]
first step at cabalization

8 years agoupdate documentation
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 01:07:55 +0000 (02:07 +0100)]
update documentation

8 years agothe great renaming (part 1)
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 01:01:44 +0000 (02:01 +0100)]
the great renaming (part 1)

8 years agowc of source code files that discounts boilerplate v0.3
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 00:07:46 +0000 (01:07 +0100)]
wc of source code files that discounts boilerplate

8 years agoboilerplate
Claude Heiland-Allen [Mon, 12 Jul 2010 00:06:20 +0000 (01:06 +0100)]
boilerplate

8 years agomore documentation
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 11 Jul 2010 23:43:26 +0000 (00:43 +0100)]
more documentation

8 years agogenerate random views and transition between them
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 11 Jul 2010 23:22:33 +0000 (00:22 +0100)]
generate random views and transition between them

8 years agogenerate a smooth transition between two viewports
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 11 Jul 2010 23:21:58 +0000 (00:21 +0100)]
generate a smooth transition between two viewports

8 years agoprune dead code
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 11 Jul 2010 23:21:18 +0000 (00:21 +0100)]
prune dead code

8 years agodocument scripting interface; saner defaults
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 11 Jul 2010 23:20:32 +0000 (00:20 +0100)]
document scripting interface; saner defaults

8 years agoset the view directly
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sun, 11 Jul 2010 23:19:30 +0000 (00:19 +0100)]
set the view directly

8 years agomore documentation
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 18:06:30 +0000 (19:06 +0100)]
more documentation

8 years agouse Lua interface
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 18:06:06 +0000 (19:06 +0100)]
use Lua interface

8 years agofix compiler warnings
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 18:05:28 +0000 (19:05 +0100)]
fix compiler warnings

8 years agobuild the Lua interface
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 17:07:09 +0000 (18:07 +0100)]
build the Lua interface

8 years agodefault configuration and interactive key bindings as Lua scripts
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 17:06:46 +0000 (18:06 +0100)]
default configuration and interactive key bindings as Lua scripts

8 years agoLua configuration scripting interface
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 17:05:49 +0000 (18:05 +0100)]
Lua configuration scripting interface

8 years agogeneralize type of clamp
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 14:42:17 +0000 (15:42 +0100)]
generalize type of clamp

8 years agonotes about profiling v0.2
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 07:18:16 +0000 (08:18 +0100)]
notes about profiling

8 years agoignore generated Sort.hs
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 07:10:24 +0000 (08:10 +0100)]
ignore generated Sort.hs

8 years agomore CAF; integrate logger; wrap long lines; update returns a score function; cleaner...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 07:09:40 +0000 (08:09 +0100)]
more CAF; integrate logger; wrap long lines; update returns a score function; cleaner setting of detail levels / radius; don't recompute levels for Julia; split display callback into logical chunks; log timing statistics for display; use IO-based sort when computing jobs todo; more elegant background colour (orange not black); home key resets; tweak configuration; prune dead code

8 years agomore CAFs; remove superfluous comments; neaten builder with intermediate strict struc...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:55:16 +0000 (07:55 +0100)]
more CAFs; remove superfluous comments; neaten builder with intermediate strict structure for speed; strictify main tile structure for speed; decompose toTiles into smaller functions; levels store inner and outer (edge) tiles to speed up pruning; three-way partitioning for pruning; rejigged zoomTo and stepIn/Out functions for new pruning; tiles have a canonical id

8 years agomore aggressive optimisation; add new files to build; (commented) variants for thread...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:40:32 +0000 (07:40 +0100)]
more aggressive optimisation; add new files to build; (commented) variants for threadscope and profiling

8 years agocorrectness and speed fixes
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:37:24 +0000 (07:37 +0100)]
correctness and speed fixes

8 years agologger for runtime statistics computation
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:34:45 +0000 (07:34 +0100)]
logger for runtime statistics computation

8 years agotwiddle either/pairs for new texturecache interface; log computation time statistics
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:33:48 +0000 (07:33 +0100)]
twiddle either/pairs for new texturecache interface; log computation time statistics

8 years agofaster constructor; more foo-or-equal tests; faster transform for a subset of matrices
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:31:25 +0000 (07:31 +0100)]
faster constructor; more foo-or-equal tests; faster transform for a subset of matrices

8 years agoenable mipmap filtering for massive quality boost
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:29:19 +0000 (07:29 +0100)]
enable mipmap filtering for massive quality boost

8 years agoIO-based sorting using C qsort(), benchmarked to be cheaper on both time and space...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:28:32 +0000 (07:28 +0100)]
IO-based sorting using C qsort(), benchmarked to be cheaper on both time and space with lists around 2k elements

8 years agouse IO-based sort for speed boost
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:24:28 +0000 (07:24 +0100)]
use IO-based sort for speed boost

8 years agoflip (a, E b c) to E (a,b) (a,c) for speed boost; use IO-based cache interface; type...
Claude Heiland-Allen [Sat, 10 Jul 2010 06:22:35 +0000 (07:22 +0100)]
flip (a, E b c) to E (a,b) (a,c) for speed boost; use IO-based cache interface; type synonym for clarity