drm/nv20-nv40: add memory type detection
authorBen Skeggs <bskeggs@redhat.com>
Mon, 12 Dec 2011 13:03:14 +0000 (23:03 +1000)
committerBen Skeggs <bskeggs@redhat.com>
Wed, 21 Dec 2011 22:47:26 +0000 (08:47 +1000)
commit0e5041c5f1fb0ebe1aa1bf743d7184f947f4e90a
tree13771108bc2708015001c40e6eb3974ef5779efe
parent692f2fcf457aece0c047e5c290f68c1ccf3b502f
drm/nv20-nv40: add memory type detection

NV20/NV30 is partially educated guesswork at this point, based on any
information around about available memory types and a horribly unspeakable
amount of vbios image scouring.  I'm not entirely certain the GDDR3 define
is correct, I have not spotted a single vbios with that value yet (though
it is mentioned in some 1218-using nv4x vbios), but there are reports that
some nv3x did use it..

NV40(100914) confirmed by switching an NV49 to DDR1/DDR2 values and making
sure that the binary driver behaviour showed it had detected DDR1/DDR2
instead of GDDR3 before dying horribly.

NV40(100474) confirmed by doing much the same task as above on an NV44,
except this was *much* easier as changing the values didn't seem to have
any noticable effect on the memory controller aside from changing the
binary driver's behaviour.

Signed-off-by: Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@redhat.com>
drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_drv.h
drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_state.c
drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nv20_fb.c
drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nv40_fb.c