net: add kernel paramer to control inter device bootp timeout
authorMugunthan V N <mugunthanvnm@ti.com>
Fri, 30 Nov 2012 06:57:08 +0000 (12:27 +0530)
committerMugunthan V N <mugunthanvnm@ti.com>
Fri, 30 Nov 2012 11:56:57 +0000 (17:26 +0530)
commit98d15d1da840915ca302428441865755db30989b
tree7c70810f357c2c1790bc837e82d28736b0a8f810
parent1775e2ec0246e54a21493783c2609fc36d3582d1
net: add kernel paramer to control inter device bootp timeout

Default timeout on a multi network device system is HZ/2, so after
HZ/2 timeout bootp moves to next device. When the DHCP server responds
after HZ/2 timeout then the response received on that network is
ignored with the log "DHCP/BOOTP: Ignoring delayed packet" as it
is not the current network device for BOOTP.

Adding a Kernel parameter to configure the inter device BOOTP waiting
timeout so that on a slower network it can be varied to get DHCP
response without timeout.

Signed-off-by: Mugunthan V N <mugunthanvnm@ti.com>
Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
net/ipv4/ipconfig.c