mm: keep a guard page below a grow-down stack segment
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 13 Aug 2010 00:54:33 +0000 (17:54 -0700)
committerJim Huang <jserv@0xlab.org>
Fri, 20 Aug 2010 16:03:27 +0000 (00:03 +0800)
commita43974bd3620d366947a6057129936d3c6778fa8
treeca9a52c96373a1055dc1599325ef949579a9b6a1
parent8e8c008acb1feb56739c3189191a5af760b0fc1d
mm: keep a guard page below a grow-down stack segment

This is a rather minimally invasive patch to solve the problem of the
user stack growing into a memory mapped area below it.  Whenever we fill
the first page of the stack segment, expand the segment down by one
page.

Now, admittedly some odd application might _want_ the stack to grow down
into the preceding memory mapping, and so we may at some point need to
make this a process tunable (some people might also want to have more
than a single page of guarding), but let's try the minimal approach
first.

Tested with trivial application that maps a single page just below the
stack, and then starts recursing.  Without this, we will get a SIGSEGV
_after_ the stack has smashed the mapping.  With this patch, we'll get a
nice SIGBUS just as the stack touches the page just above the mapping.

Requested-by: Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/memory.c